RULES OF THE GAME

Glenn Stith

Good news for
Windy City golfers

How do you proceed if a gust of wind blows your ball
from its resting place before you can play it?

ast year, the
answer lo that
question would
have depended
upon whether you
had addressed the ball before
it moved. If you had not yet
done that, you would play it
from its new location without
penalty. Rule 18-2b—ball
moving after address states,
“If a player's ball in play moves
alter he has addressed 1t (other
than as a result of a stroke),
the player is deemed to have
moved the ball and incurs a
penalty of one stroke. The ball
must be replaced, unless the
movement of the ball occurs
alter the player has begun
the stroke or the backward
movement of the club for
the stroke and the siroke is
made.”
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18-2b, There may be a penalty
involved under a dillerem
section of Rule 18 if the
agency that caused your ball
to move was a player, a caddie
or a player's equipment.

Finally, if your ball moves
alter address and it is not
known or virtually certain
that its movement was caused
by weather or some other
agency, then 18-2b is stll in
effect. You incur a penalty
stroke and you must replace
your ball.

For example, the exception
to Rule 18-2b does not apply if
gravity or some other undeter-
minable force suddenly causes
vour ball to start moving.

Therefore, the word to the
wise in the Windy City 1s, if
your ball is at rest on a slope
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In the past few years, several
tour players incurred penalties
under Rule 18-2b for their ball
moving after address. Rory Mcllroy
incurred a penalty under Rule 18-
2b in the British Open and Webb
Simpson lost the Zurich Classic in a
playoff with Bubba Watson after he
was penalized for his ball moving
on the 15th green during the final
round.

Fortunately for all of us, in 2012
an exception has been added to
Rule 18-2b, and it says:

“If itis known or virwually certain
that the player did not cause his
ball to move, Rule 18-2b does not
apply.” So now, il it is virtually
certain that the wind caused your
ball to move, you play your ball

[rom its new position, without
penalty, regardless ol whether you
had already addressed it.

This means if your ball movestoa
better location (closer to the hole, or
even in the hole) or a worse location
(farther from the hole, or even into
a water hazard), you must accept
the improved or worsened result,
The same holds true il some other
element of the weather, such as rain
or sleet, causes vour ball to move,

If, on the other hand, it is known
or virtually certain your ball is
moved by some agency other than
the weather, such as a squirrel,
another ball or a person, then
your ball must be replaced, but
there 1s still no penalty under Rule

of a quick green, and you
suspect it could begin
moving without the wind being
the clear cause, then you might
want to putt without addressing
your ball; that is, by not grounding
yvour club before you putt. Note:
The definition of “addressing
the ball” has been simplified
for 2012 as well. It no longer
includes taking your stance. A
player has now “addressed the ball”
when he has grounded his club
immediately in front of or behind
his ball, #
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